Filmmaker moves to Congress, quits JDS

Karnataka Politics

 Kolar M.L.C., filmmaker and producer. C.R. Manohar joins Congress.

Kolar Member of the Legislative Council (M.L.C.) Dr. CR Manohar  joined the Congress party this morning.Kolar M.L.C. had quit Janata Dal (Secular) JD(S) two days ago.

Addressing the press conference at the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) office, DK Shivakumar, president of KPCC said that this time a lot of leaders who worked for the rural areas are joining KPCC.

“Today, we are going to induct more people in the party,” he added.

“All the KPCC members in their respective constituencies should work and share it on social media which will be looked by KPCC and the All India Congress Committee (AICC),” said Shivakumar.

“I, welcome all the new entrants to the party,” said Siddaramiah. Former Karnataka Chief Minister (CM) Siddaramiah and the KPCC president DK Shivakumar welcomed him to the party at the KPCC office in Bengaluru.

 Manohar was denied the party ticket to the Kolar-Chikkaballapur constituency for the coming local elections by the JD(S) high command.

“Manohar enjoyed power in his constituency under JD(S) but he did not work much. Most of the work was done under the guidance of HD Deve Gowda and HD Kumaraswamy,” said Badregowda B, JD (S) corporator from Nagapura. He added that there were talks of him shifting to the Bhartiya Janata party (BJP) too. “Where there is power, he will go,” he said.  

Former Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Kolar and JD(S) leader Y.S.V. Datta said that the party was hesitant in giving the MLC ticket to Manohar. “I think he has shifted not only because he was not given the ticket but also he wanted to explore senior positions in a party,” he said. 

  • Kolar Member of the Legislative Council (M.L.C.) Dr. CR Manohar joined the Congress party this morning.Kolar M.L.C. had quit Janata Dal (Secular) JD(S) two days ago.

Dr. Chaitraprasad, assistant professor of political science at the Karnataka Lingayat Education (K.L.E) Society Law College said that the shifting of politicians from one party to another is becoming a trend. “Every individual who stands for elections these days has no ideological leaning. They want to win elections and come to power,” he added.

“People are aware about the politicians shifting from one party to another. The changing pattern among the politicians is also reflected in the voters. They are knowledgeable about these things,” he said. Other leaders like Amarnath, Nanjappa, Gopalkrishna, and Nagaraj are among others who have also been inducted into Congress.

Jinit Parmar
Reports- rural issues, civic issues, technology, current affairs, politics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *