George, Haris score in BPAC ratings


The committee rated 27 MLAs on eight parameters which had reliable data such as attendance, spending, and others.

Bangalore, 13 April 2018: Sarvagna Nagar MLA, K J George, is the best performing MLA  from the city and C V Raman Nagar MLA, S Raghu, is the worst performing one, said a report from B.PAC which rated 27 city MLAs ahead of the state assembly elections slated to be held on May 12.

Bangalore Political Action Commitee (BPAC) —a citizens’ group that aims to improve governance in the city —rated the MLAs on eight parameters such as attendance in assembly, number of questions asked in assembly, spending, public perception, and four others.

Byatarayanapura MLA Krishna Byre Gowda and Shanthinagar MLA N A Haris were some of the other MLAs who scored well in the ratings. BPAC chose parameters depending on the availability of data, quality of data, and the reliability of the source.

Revathy Ashok, managing director, B.PAC explained that the analysis is aimed at bringing objectivity into electoral discussions so that the voter can make an informed decision. She said this would bring in transparency into the process.

T V Mohandas Pai, Vice President B.PAC said in the press release, “Continuing B.PAC’s commitment to take information about elected representatives closer  to citizens to make informed choices, B.PAC undertook the MLA rating exercise. Now the citizens of Bengaluru should come out and vote in large numbers on May 12 elections and elect responsible representatives who will govern the city efficiently during the next five years.”

B.PAC also highlighted the low voter turnout in Bangalore in recent elections. “Bangalore city, in spite of being a progressive city in several segments, voter turnout in the city has been the lowest in the past elections. The voter turnout was 47.22 per cent and 58.27 per cent in 2008 and 2013 assembly elections,” said B.PAC.  “There are fewer voters because people aren’t aware as to whom to vote for,” said Revathy Ashok

B.PAC, through its efforts, aims to increase the voter turnout to 65 percent this time.